1994- North American Free Trade Agreement Established

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) was an agreement signed by Canada, Mexico, and the United States, creating a trilateral trade bloc in North America.

The implementation of NAFTA on January 1, 1994 brought the immediate elimination of tariffs on more than one-half of Mexico’s exports to the U.S. and more than one-third of U.S. exports to Mexico.

Before approving the George H.W. Bush drafted bill, and sending it to the United States Senate, President Bill Clinton added two side agreements, The North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation (NAALC) and the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC).